The Slow Hustle companion
The Slow Hustle companion
Podcast/Books/Content Recommendations from 2020 & The Little things
1
--:--
--:--

Podcast/Books/Content Recommendations from 2020 & The Little things

1

As I sat down to write this on the first day of 2021 I kept thinking about what I'll remember the most about the experience that was 2020. And as I started to list them out I realised there was an overwhelming commonality to all of them.. they were what is generally called 

" The little things"

(Quick side note, the virus isn't gone..so still, stay safe and wear a mask ). 

The little things,..smaller moments, conversations and stuff that is always put into the bucket of being small in relevance to our lives. And yet what I've come to realise as I've gotten older and have especially realised in recent times ( and especially in the year gone by) is that its these little things that make us and our lives truly whole. And many of these have passed by when we were staring at our phones or just stuck as unread messages or unchecked to-dos because supposed bigger things like our own ambition got the spotlight. 

But this year as we've been stuck in our homes it has been these very small things that have crept into focus. And that's why my entire list was centred around the small trips to the supermarket with my daughter, the times my dog would cuddle up next to me heave a happy sigh and sleep or that daily irreverent conversation on an old friends group, I remembered that morning ritual of brewing coffee when everyone is asleep, the sporadic word game with family online and sharing some nighttime tea & a little conversation with my wife every night. As I listed these out I was reminded of one of my favourite passages from one of my all-time fav books

"Take a ton of pictures, text your friend's stupid things,check-inn with old friends as often as possible, express admiration to coworkers, and every day, tell as many people as you can that you love them. A couple of minutes every day—the payoff is small at first, and then it’s immense."

Scott Galloway in "The Algebra of happiness" 

So, this year while you plan your life, your career, focus on your ambition and individual growth.. don't forget that its the little things that will compound your happiness over time and make you whole. 

✌🏽

Podcast/book/content reco-list

I thought I'd list down a set of recommendations from the stuff I've consumed in the year gone by... ( not everything would have come out in 2020.. but I don't think we live in a linear world anyway). So here goes..

Podcasts:

  • Bill gates & Rashida Jones ask big questions. This podcast surprised me with its mixture of depth and warmth in what can only be described as a tightly bound conversation that covers all ends. ( Also Bill gates can be 😁 funny)

  • Land of the Giants (Season 2: Netflix). This one kept me glued with its narrative of not just the Netflix journey but the various aspects around the company and the overall business of Entertainment.

  • Inside voices. My find of the year, an almost serene dive into the minds of some of the most interesting podcasters around. ( It made me think about what my voice truly stood for )

  • Meditative story. Another fabulous find, part storytelling podcast and part meditative prompter.. this podcast balances the two ends beautifully creating a truly alternative way into a mindfulness practice. 

  • Bhaskar Bose. Truly the game starter in India's plunge into immersive audio movies, always listen with headphones on and just enjoy the ride.

Special mention: Fin shots daily. A fabulous daily driver for anyone who's been interested in financial news but always found it too jargon-filled. On-point and very informative.

Books:

  • The Psychology of Money - Morgan Housel. Give me a perspective on how I looked at both the role of money in the world and how I look at it in my life.

  • Daringly Great: How the Courage to be vulnerable transforms the way we live, love, parent and lead - Dr Brene Brown. A true masterclass in understanding our vulnerabilities helps make them our biggest strengths. 

  • Ride of a lifetime - Bob Iger. The career, the stories, the company.. need I say more.

  • Post Corona - Scott Galloway. Prof G as always gives a Macro pov on the world as it heads to a post-COVID state and drills down trends, predictions and his inimitable takes on everything under the sun. 

  • Talking to strangers - Malcolm Gladwell. Deeply informative as always with many a Moment when I had to pause and digest the stories and the insights.  

  • Stillness is the Key: Ryan Holiday. Ryan holiday has brought stoicism into my life with all his books ( all of them are must-reads) but this one especially helped me through some of the toughest parts of the year.

Shows/Movies/Content in general:

  • Ted Lasso ( Apple TV+).. this show was all heart and boy did we need it.

  • AK vs AK ( Netflix). Let's admit it Anil Kapoor is a national treasure and Vikramaditya Motwane can never be put in a box as a storyteller.

  • Virdas: Outside in ( Netflix). I came away from watching this journey that Vir went on this year with such a range of emotions that I was choked up in happiness and genuine heart.

  • The Playbook: A coach's rules for life ( Netflix). 5 of the best coaches in the world drilling down their process and journeys.. I had my notebook out!!

  • Song Exploder ( Netflix). To watch artists take us through the creation of some of their most memorable songs in a true podcast to visual series transition... Hrishikesh hirway just brings the vibes.. ( just watch the episode with REM to know what I mean) 

  • The Mandalorian (Hotstar Disney+). I mean, do I even have to say why? The Force is strongest with this show.

Also, most videos that Ali Abidaali & Nathneal drew put out on their YouTube channels this year.

Special App mention - Readwise. Stores all your highlights from your kindle and also throws them ( and other generally highlighted portions at you every day). Great for people who don't remember the stuff they highlight like me.

Have a great 2021

✌🏽

1 Comment